Skip to Main ContentCOE HomeSDSU Home

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

2017 Faculty and Alumni Monty Awards

The Montys: Doug and Karen
The Montys are a time-honored tradition at SDSU. The award is a symbol of achievement and success presented to distinguished professors and alumni. The Monty Awards are bestowed by the SDSU Alumni Association and given to those who have made significant contributions to the university, the San Diego community or California, nationally or internationally.

Our faculty award winner for 2017 is Dr. Douglas Fisher. Dr. Fisher joined the Department of Educational Leadership in 2011 having served as Professor of Language and Literacy Education at SDSU since 1998. In addition, he is a teacher and administrator at Health Sciences High & Middle College. He has served as a teacher, language development specialist, and administrator in public schools and non-profit organizations, including 8 years as the Director of Professional Development for the City Heights Collaborative, a time of increased student achievement in some of San Diego’s urban schools. Fisher is a researcher who is interested in school improvement, especially in the area of quality instruction. Dr. Fisher received his award at the 2017-18 Convocation ceremony on August 24th. View Dr. Fisher's Monty Award video.

The 2017 Alumni Monty will be awarded to Dr. Karen Janney at a celebration on October 8, 2017. Dr. Janney earned her doctorate in Educational Leadership at SDSU with an emphasis in district transformation. As Superintendent of the Sweetwater Union High School District with over 37 years of secondary teaching and administrative experience, Dr. Janney brings a demonstrated record for creating and sustaining dynamic organizational capacity and educational equity. Most recently, she served as an Executive Coach for the National Center for Urban School Transformation (NCUST).