Skip to Main ContentCOE HomeSDSU Home

Search I&I News

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Two Alumni Named San Diego County Teachers of the Year

San Diego County Teacher of the Year winners.
SDSU alumni Hilda Martinez (second from left) and Don Dumas (second from right).

Two San Diego State University College of Education alumni have been honored as San Diego County Teachers of the Year. Don Dumas ’08, ’10, ’16 and Hilda Martinez ’98, ’01, ’16 were among the five recipients of the award on Sept. 7 at the 29th Salute to Teachers awards ceremony, presented by the San Diego County Office of Education and Cox Communications. The honor means they are now in the running for California Teacher of the Year later this year.

Martinez (Zamorano Fine Arts Academy) earned her bachelor’s degree in liberal studies, master’s degree in curriculum and instruction and Preliminary Administrative Services Credential from SDSU. Dumas (Bonita Vista High) came through COE's credential and Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) programs.

Read their stories at SDSU NewsCenter.

“Graduates of our teacher education programs are making a positive difference in the lives of young people in San Diego County on a daily basis,” said Y. Barry Chung, dean of the College of Education. “Hilda, Don and all our inspiring alumni nominees exemplify that fact. I am grateful for their service to our community.”

Several other members of the COE family were included in field of 42 nominees drawn from more than 22,000 public school teachers countywide. Jenny Lieu, ’05, ’08, who teaches at Lincoln High in San Diego, was named one of five finalists for the award. Other SDSU alumni nominees — each named as teacher of the year at their school sites — include:
  • Manny Aceves ’89, ’02 from Bancroft Elementary in La Mesa
  • Bonnie Jackson ’93 from PRIDE Academy in Santee 
  • Maria Johnson ’90 from Bostonia Language Academy in El Cajon 
  • Jen Mathis ’08, ’19 from Ella B. Allen Elementary School in Chula Vista 
  • Meg Rabine ’09 from Clear View Elementary School in Chula Vista 
  • George Ratcliff ’94, ’04 from Joseph Casillas Elementary in Chula Vista 
  • Mickey Sullivan ’00 from '03, Balboa Elementary School in San Diego 
  • Jennifer Ward ’02 from East County Special Education Local Plan Area. 
Also among the nominees were SDSU School of Teacher Education lecturer Kris Rodenberg, who teaches at Mt. Everest Academy in San Diego, and guide teacher Kari Koch from Tierra del Sol Middle School in Lakeside.