Skip to Main ContentCOE HomeSDSU Home

Search I&I News

Thursday, November 4, 2021

STE Alumna Tiffany Jokerst Named Top California Teacher

Tiffany Jokerst

San Diego State University alumna Tiffany Jokerst (’05, ’06) has been named a 2022 California Teacher of the Year. The mathematics and engineering teacher at West Hills High in Santee was among five recipients of the award, announced by State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond

“I am incredibly honored to represent all San Diego teachers who persevered during such an unprecedented year of education,” Jokerst said. “I hope to inspire educators to provide a learning environment that fosters a connection with students through project-based learning experiences that encourage student voice and choice.” 

Jokerst, who earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics and a teaching credential at SDSU, was recognized for her innovative teaching style which focuses on connecting math to real-world situations and challenging students to engage in collaborative problem solving. 

She also takes pride in being a supportive force in her students’ lives — a role she said was inspired by her own experiences as a young student. 

“Teachers were always the inspiration in my life — I had a pretty rough childhood,” she said. “Growing up, they were always the ones I turned to for guidance — they were my place of stability. I knew from a very early age that I wanted to be that same place of comfort for students.”

Jokerst qualified for the state honor in September when she was named one of five 2022 San Diego County Teachers of the Year — a distinction she shared with fellow SDSU alumna Jacquelyn Flores Jourdane (’20). Read more about Jokerst and Jourdane

Fellow statewide recipient Alondra Diaz — a third grade teacher from Saddleback Valley Unified School District in Orange County — has been chosen as California’s representative for the 2022 National Teacher of the Year competition. 

SDSU alumni have twice received the National Teacher of the Year award, Janis Gabay (’72, ’78) in 1990 and Sandra McBrayer (’86, ’96) in 1995.